Kelly Rivera of Necrocrates

What’s the backstory behind Necrocrates?

Well, NecroCrates was a Halloween craft project between friends that turned into what it is now! In August of 2017, a friend of mine and I were doing some Halloween hunting. We happened to find some wooden coffins at Michael’s Craft Store and thought it would be a fun Halloween craft to do with our kids. And of course, I couldn’t just paint a plain coffin, let it be that, and move on. So I started learning different creative ways to decorate my coffin. I have ridiculous amounts of arts and crafts materials and tools and decided I would give decoupage a try. The first 2 coffins I had ever made was Bela Lugosi and Beetlejuice. I love sharing my creations that I come up with, so I gave the Bela Lugosi coffin to a friend of mine that is obsessed with everything Lugosi. To me, they looked so badass that I had to do the Instagram Millennial thing and post them on my personal IG. I wasn’t expecting to suddenly be flooded with questions of “HOW MUCH ARE YOU SELLING THESE FOR?!?” or “WHERE DO I GET ONE!!!” it took about a week to come up with a name and figure out what to start with. A lot of banter back and forth of different names until we thought hey! Necronomicon… Wooden Crates… NECROCRATES!!!!
I didn’t think it would expand like it has from a small hobby to obtaining a business license. It still feels somewhat surreal to this day!

How long does it take to come up with a design?

It depends really. Some ideas hit me instantly. Others like my first Jason Voorhees coffin took an entire year to come up with an idea. And when it finally hit me what to do, I started cracking up instantly! It was the first collaboration I had done with Rodrigo. And our wires got crossed somehow. Most of the time a lightbulb goes off in my head, and I hit the ground running until it is done.

46112789_281155189195321_8804982509294059520_n

Have you yet been able to work with Ghost?

I haven’t actually been able to work with Ghost directly. I’ve made multiple attempts to get that ball rolling. But after emailing a few companies to get a contact in the right direction. Then a few emails back and forth with reps working on some kind of deal. After months of trying, I would stop receiving responses. Hopefully one of these days I’ll finally get to work with them.

Out of all the designs you’ve done, which one is your favorite?

That is honestly a tough question. I love them all so much! And my technique has developed more and more over time. But honestly, since Rodrigo Pires @ rdrg.art on Instagram and I have started designing together, my favorite at this moment is the Dead Head Elvis Presley that we collaborated together on. That design was inspired by my daughter’s “babaw” who is obsessed with Elvis Presley.

How long have you been listening to Ghost for?

I started listening to Ghost over 2 years ago. One of my best friends introduced me to their music starting with the songs from Meliora, and I became obsessed instantly! I listen to their music almost every day!

Any favorite songs or an album by them?

I LOVE IT ALL! I honestly don’t see how people can choose a favorite!!! Every time I listen to their songs, it is like listening to the songs for the first time all over again. Every time I listen to one of their songs I think “That’s my favorite!” Then the next one comes on, and my mind jumps and that one’s my favorite!

They’re going on tour here soon. Will you be attending any of the dates?

Yes!!!! My first Ritual will be at the show in Atlanta, so I had to go all out and get the M&G as well! And of course, go with my best friend who introduced me to their music! It’ll be his second Ritual, but a first M&G for the both of us! We have zero clue what we would even say to Cardi. Probably fangirl and do the whole incoherent speaking. haha!

Outside of art, do you have any other hobbies?

Art is life! But when I’m not getting crafty or artsy, I’m usually doing the gangsta mom thang! Between the two there is little time for anything else. If and when I do find some free time, I’ll play my guitar. Either to write my own stuff or to mess around and look up random songs to see if I can even play them. I also love reading! Currently reading The Shining, because its one of my favorite films. For some reason, it didn’t hit me to read the book!!! But I’m glad I am now!!! Sooooooo guuuuuuuuud!

What’s your favorite genre of music?

I get asked that question, and I never really known how to answer. My taste in music is all over the place between Metal, Alt Rock, Bluegrass, Blues, Jazz, Industrial, Swing … I tend to listen to the Beetlejuice Soundtrack while I’m driving and have that blasting from my speakers. Ghost has been my go-to most of the time. I’ve never been one to enjoy sitting in silence unless I’m out in the country. But even then I will sit and imagine different riffs or songs while I am out there. Music is constantly in my head even when I can’t listen. I honestly just couldn’t imagine a world without it.

Lastly, what’s the best advice someone has ever given you?

Probably from my Great Grandma. Before she passed away, she gave me a Charles Dickens book and wrote on the inside cover, “Stay As Sweet as You Are Now”. I’ve done my best to live by that. It is not easy to do in the world we live in filled with Greed and Hate. I can’t change the world to be sweeter to each other, but I can do my best to put out those good vibes into the world.

And I do my best to run my shop by that standard as well. Any time someone special requests something, I try to do my best to make their wishes a reality. Or if I am late on an order due to unforeseen circumstances, I’ll add a little something extra for the inconvenience. I try to remember each person. If they message me with questions I do my best to answer right away as well. In return, I feel rewarded getting to see where my coffins end up, or the stories behind what people use them for.

My advice to the world. “Hug people more!” You never know what people are going through that they keep to themselves. And that small bit of unscripted kindness goes a long way.

Leave a comment