The Legion’s Leader Tim Lanning

How did you come up with the idea for Legion of Ghost and when was it formed?

Well I won’t rehash the reason why I created the group but let’s just say it was necessary and absolutely critical to give this band’s fandom a place where they could be fans of Ghost however they’d like… especially for the female fans and the sexual energy of the band’s music and imagery that they were attracted to.

But when it was formed was at a HUGE point of the band’s career. The band had just played on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert, playing for the first time on a major television network! And the wee hours of the morning following here on the East Coast, which was of course at the time, Halloween 2015.

Seeing how big the group has gotten over the past few years, did you ever once thought it would become such a focal hub for Ghost fans?

This big? No, but at the same time, I’m not surprised. Yes, that sounds egotistical, but I knew that giving a place for all fans AND the fact I had some pretty awesome friends to get this started with, the sky was the limit. I believed and still believe SO much in my friends and how we do things, in our own special way. It really is our own little tribe that has grown and grown. It blows me away almost constantly!

Coming from a personal stance, Legion of Ghost changed my life in a way I would have never expected. I’ve met so many amazing people since joining in 2016. How it does it feel knowing you’ve helped change lives so positively?

That kind of thing really rocks me to my core. Reading that, and then hearing stories of relationships that have started because of me creating a Facebook group blow me away. But let’s be honest, LoG is important but in the big scope of reality or life, it’s just a Facebook group. I mean it IS very important, but there are lots of things that are more important. But to have impacted someone else’s lives like this just blows my mind. Absolutely crazy…but I’ll take it! If something like LoG can be someone else’s shining light or beacon in the darkness, then I’m so glad and happy beyond words for that! I’m just so grateful people are here and are enjoying this safe zone we have created for all fans.

What’s the proudest moment with this group?

Well of the stuff I can say, moments like I mentioned above with hearing how this group’s mere existence helping people, changing lives and bringing people together in both friendships and romantic relationships too. If that doesn’t penetrate you to your soul, nothing will!

Do you have memorable experiences that have occurred because of LoG?

Yes, lots of smaller victories along the way. Or milestones is a better word. As we got bigger and more people became a part of LoG, it was an awesome experience to share special moments with the band such as the Grammy. Very very cool!

Outside of Ghost, which other bands/musicians do you listen to?

I have quite an eclectic, eccentric range of music loves. My favorite bands are U2 and Metallica, but I listen to literally everything. I love jazz, old Motown era R&B, oldies, and classical music. I’m down for just about anything except new country & new rap lol.

Other very important bands to me are Alice In Chains, Rammstein, Deftones, the Fun Lovin’ Criminals and Nirvana (the band that literally changed my life), to name a few.

Do you have any hobbies?

Games and music, and since I just talked about music above, I’ll talk games here. Big time Nintendo fan, and big-time 90s arcade kid. From Mario to Mortal Kombat. Nintendo, Xbox, and Sony. Just love to game! Currently addicted to Rare’s Sea of Thieves!

If you could go back in time talk to anyone who is deceased, who would it be and why?

Oh boy, that’s a toughie. About 3 and a half years ago I lost my “baby cousin” unexpectedly. She wasn’t a baby to be clear, but I always referred to her as such. It broke me and broke my family. But I would love to tell her one last time how loved she was and that even though she is gone, no one is mad at her. She was an amazing young woman and was robbed of her future. I’ll probably never get over that.

If you could give any words of wisdom to your younger self, what would they be?

Don’t fuck around with school, get your shit straight! I have many regrets of how I handled my academics.

 

Leave a comment