A Spectular Sitdown with Sam Dunn

When did you begin to draw? Was there any significant person or inspiration that helped get you started?

I started drawing at a young age, it was always my favorite hobby. My parents and grandparents encouraged me to do art too, so it seemed like a normal progression to keep going and make a living from it. In Secondary School (ages 11 – 16), I had two really good teachers for Art and Design, they helped me to see this as a viable career option, sharing their own experiences and giving me lots of good advice. I went onto Art College for two years after school and focused on Graphic Design, Illustration and Photography then moved to London to study at Central Saint Martins for three years. During this time whilst I was studying, I started working for bands and brands online through MySpace, doing CD covers, Gig Posters, Flyers and T-shirts, which I’ve been doing ever since. After graduating, I got a job in an advertising agency as a designer, then finally went freelance full time as an Illustrator just over 5 years ago.

How long would you say it took to develop your style?

I think it’s something that has developed over time, filtered through all of my interests and inspirations. As a teenager, I was heavily into punk music and skateboarding, which opened up the doors to find out about so many creative areas. I’m from a small suburban town in the UK, so there wasn’t too much going on there for young people growing up. I used to spend lots of time playing Tony Hawk games on the PS1 & 2 and found most of the bands I still love today through those games. I would analyze, re-create and design my own CD covers, skateboards, band logos, etc.

I also spent a lot of the time in the Lake District, which is an area full of mountains, Lakes (as the name suggests) and small rural towns in the countryside, I think this is where my love of animals and natural imagery comes from.

Are there any artists that you look up to?

There’s so much opportunity now to find amazing artists online, I could name so many people who I think are doing great things at the moment, so I’ll list just a few great people (not meaning to miss anyone one out) who I’ve conversed with over the last few years – Pedro Oyarbide & Lola Beltrán (Workshop Madrid), Yeaaah! Studio, Iain Macarthur, Will Blood and of course the Ghost artwork crew!

Were you a fan of Ghost before working with them?

Yes! The first album I listened to was Infesstisumum around 2013 / 2014, I think the first song I ever heard was either Body and Blood or Secular Haze from a link on Facebook and I remember loving the sound, it seemed very familiar and quite nostalgic. I have always been into bands with quite a spooky image, who are not necessarily heavy in their sound, AFI / Misfits / Energy for example. Although Ghost doesn’t directly fit into that spooky / punk / emo / melodic kind of sound directly, they’re a very melodic band which always appeals to me. The imagery and storytelling around the music is something that is so captivating, I have always loved bands who’ve considered their image and artwork as well as the sound.

How did you get started on making artwork/designs for Ghost?

I started working for bands and brands who contacted me online through MySpace when I was 16, to get a little bit of experience working in that area whilst I was studying. Fast forward 12 years later, I’ve worked with lots of great people who I’ve connected with all over the world thanks to the internet. I’ve had some dream jobs sent my way, from designing tour posters for Alkaline Trio to working on tour shirts for HIM’s farewell shows and of course, doing shirts for Ghost! It’s so rewarding when you get to work with bands that you’re a fan of.

What’s your favorite composition you’ve done for them?

Hmm, it’s always tricky to pick out from my own work, I think it’s easier to see objectively if you’re not as close to art. I think the Papa Ouija means a lot to me, being the first shirt I did. I also like the Copia shirt with the dancing Skeletons, being the first one released this new era and seeing how many people own it!

How do you come up with the concepts for your designs?

Sometimes concepts just come to me and I roughly plan them out and they’re more straightforward. Other times I’ll have to research other areas, listen to lyrics or look into the artwork of the band I’m working on and go from there. I try to add my own touch to everything I do so that it fits within the bands’ world but also has a little bit of me in it somewhere.

Looking at some of the Ghost shirts I own, a few of the prints were made by you. How cool is it to see people wearing your designs? (By the way, your Papa Ouija is my favorite Ghost apparel I own)

Thank you! I am always so honored when I see shirts in the wild. It’s so nice when other fans like the art or appreciate what I do, it means a lot to me. It can be lonely working remotely, so when the final products come out and you can engage with people about it in real life, it’s a lovely feeling.

Recently Ghost was in the UK at the Royal Albert Hall. I saw that you went! You looked like you had an amazing time. Do you have any favorite moments?

It was an amazing show in such a perfect venue for them. I love the fact that it’s a full evening with them, no support bands like a regular gig. Hearing the new songs live for the first time was great and it was lovely to go with my husband and parents, who all wore one of my shirts!

Prequelle was recently released, what’s your favorite track off the album?

YOU’D NEVER WANT ME TO APPEARRRRR, YOU’D NEVER WANT THIS TO BE OVEEEERRRRR.

I absolutely love the album and it’s so hard to choose, my other favorites are, See The Light, Dance Macabre, Faith, Life Eternal (I’ve just basically named the whole album). Life Eternal is probably a very close second, I switch between that and Witch Image for 1st place.

What’s your favorite Ghost album and track.

Oh wow, so hard to choose! I don’t think I can pick a favorite album, they all have such a different meaning and there are a time and place for each one. My favorite song might have to be Jigolo Har Megiddo. I also love If You Have Ghosts so much, even though it’s not technically their song, my Dad’s band covered it at our wedding last year as a surprise, I had no idea he’d stolen my rubber Ghoul mask from my desk drawer until he wore it on stage and started playing.

Lastly… What’s your most proud moment as an artist?

Any time that I get to work with a company or band that I love, it means a lot to me.

 

Sam’s Instagram 

Sam’s Facebook

1 Comment

Leave a comment